Booking


Tél + 33 (0)4 90 63 03 03


Réservation


Renseignements & Devis

BookingClose

Château Martinay, a remarkable property, at the foot of the Dentelles de Montmirail and Mont Ventoux

This elegant Provençal castle welcomes you in a historic and friendly setting, where the spirit of a family home has been preserved. A privileged place of 35 hectares of open countryside, including a classed wooded area. At the foot of Mont Ventoux, near Avignon and Orange, as well as the vineyards of the Southern Rhône Valley, this magical place offers you a unique and intimate break.

A journey through time: From Martinet to Martinay

This neoclassical Castle, built in 1763 by Les Isnards, an illustrious Provencal dynasty, suffered the throes of the French Revolution and was partly burnt at that time. Rebuilt identically in 1836, it was completely restored in the 1990s by a family passionate about old stones.

In 2018 Mr. Pierre Deltin, a wine producer in the Rhône Valley, acquired it in order to develop there, with his children, a vacation resort combining historical heritage and nature.

Since then and through various collaborations with local artisans, Château Martinay will put on a new identity by offering a refined decoration combining authenticity and modernity in an intimate and family spirit.

This renaissance will result in particular in a change of name, from Martinet to Martinay, in order to avoid any confusion with the namesake’s castle located in Violès and to bring it closer, at least by spelling, to Château Malijay, the wine estate located in Jonquières in Côtes du Rhône, also owned by the Deltin family.

A little history ….

Château du Martinet is the ancestral home of the ISNARDS. This family, one of the oldest in the Comtat as it dates back to the 9th century, put their children at the service of this papal state to write its glorious pages.
The Isnards came to settle in Carpentras in 1520 and Garcia des Isnards was appointed to the position of vice-rector of the Comtat of Carpentras.

In 1628, Horace des Isnards acquired the stately land of Martinet later built in the Marquisate.

In 1793, the Castle was burned and destroyed. It is likely that the position occupied by Marie-Madeleine-Catherine des Isnards as first deputy governor of the children of France, as well as her attachment to the royal family, including during her incarceration, was the cause of public retribution.

Louis II of the Isnards undertook the complete reconstruction of the building on the old foundations on the edge of the gently sloped hill descending towards the Auzon river. In 1863, he erected a wall with the stones from the ramparts of Carpentras, built in 1357 and demolished in 1840. The estate continued the tradition and once again became the family’s main residence.

In 1987, the castle became part of the heritage of a large family of wool from the North, the Prouvosts, perhaps won over permanently by the sight of many sheep, which at the time were grazing in the valley.

In 2007, the castle was given over to the De Vries family who made it their place of retirement.

In 2018, a new adventure begins with the Deltin family who want to offer their guests luxury hotels in an intimate and family spirit around wine and the French art of living.

The art of living at Château Martinay, calm and delight

On the south side, a majestic sun-drenched terrace overlooking the Estate.

On the north side, a cool and shaded courtyard.

All around, a lush, finely landscaped park.

Here, the expression “pleasure castle” takes on its full meaning.

You will wander as you please in the four large lounge areas with wide openings. Original elements preserved (fireplaces, woodwork, old stones), carefully chosen furniture, the beautiful light of the South of France, the soothing views from the terraces and the park, 7 rooms and suites, three annexes and the horse farm… and thousands of details dedicated to the art of living in Provence, tinged with sophisticated and discreet luxury.

The park, the swimming pool & its orangery 

A place of relaxation and well-being

You can travel through the magnificent park and its bridle paths. It’s the perfect place for a walk. In the cool of the day, the centuries-old trees are magnificent and here and there a statue to admire or a stone bench offers a welcome rest and an ideal place to open your mind to the beauty surrounding you. The angel on the pond will watch over your walk. On a lucky day, you will come across some of the most majestic animals. Finally, close your eyes and give way to relaxation around the Château’s swimming pool located in the heart of the park. The orangery, with its brand new fitness area, can accommodate your meals for friendly atmospheres around a barbecue or a cocktail.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Keep in touch !

Receive information, offers and share moments from Château Martinay. Your personal information will not be passed on to third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Réservez


Tél + 33 (0)4 90 63 03 03


Réservation


Renseignements & Devis

RéserverFermer

Le Château Martinay, propriété remarquable, au pied des Dentelles de Montmirail et du Mont Ventoux

Cet exceptionnel château en Provence vous accueille dans un esprit de famille et de belle demeure de Provence, à la fois historique et conviviale. Un lieu privilégié de 35 hectares de pleine nature, dont un espace boisé classé. Aux pieds du Mont Ventoux, à proximité d’Avignon et d’Orange, tout près des vignobles de la Vallée du Rhône méridionale, ce lieu magique vous offre une parenthèse unique et intimiste.

Un voyage dans le temps : De Martinet à Martinay

Ce Château néo-classique, édifié en 1763 par une illustre famille provençale subit les affres de la révolution française et fût en partie brûlée à cette époque. Reconstruit à l’identique en 1836, il fut restauré en totalité dans les années 1990 par une famille amoureuse des vieilles pierres.

En 2018, Monsieur Pierre Deltin, docteur en médecine et en pharmacie, Maître Es Sciences Biologiques, rachète le château, pour le transformer en hôtel de luxe.

Dès juin 2019, avec la complicité d’Annie Zéau, décoratrice d’intérieur, le Château Martinay va se vêtir d’une nouvelle identité en proposant une décoration raffinée alliant authenticité et modernité dans un esprit intimiste et familial.

Lire la suite

De Martinet à Martinay

Le Château du Martinet est la demeure ancestrale des ISNARDS. Cette famille, l’une des plus vieilles du Comtat car connue dès le IX e siècle, mis ses meilleurs enfants au service du Pays pour y écrire des pages glorieuses.

Les Isnards vinrent s’établir à Carpentras en 1520 et Garcia Isnards fut nommé à la charge de vice-resteur du Comtat de Carpentras.
En 1628, Horace des Isnards acquit la terre seigneuriale du Martinet plus tard édifié en Marquisat.

En 1793, le Château fut brûlé et dévasté. Il est probable que la fonction, de première sous-gouvernante des enfants de France qu’occupait Marie-Madeleine-Catherine des Isnards, ainsi que son attachement à la famille royale, même dura nt son emprisonnement, ait été la cause de la vindicte populaire.

Louis II des Isnards entreprit la reconstruction totale de l’édifice sur les anciennes fondations au bord du vallonnement descendant en pente douce vers l’Auzon. En 1863, il fit dresser une muraille avec les pierres des remparts de Carpentras bâti en 1937 et démoli en 1840. Le domaine perpétua la tradition et redevint la principale résidence de la famille.

En 1987, le château entra dans la descendance d’une grande famille de lainiers du Nord, Les Prouvost, peut-être définitivement conquis par le spectacle de nombreux moutons, qui à l’époque paissaient dans le vallon.

En 2007, le château fut à nouveau vendu à un couple Hollandais qui le transforme en demeure d’hôtes d’exception.

Le renouveau à Martinay !

M. Pierre Deltin le rachète en 2018 le Château du Martinet. Il le rebaptise Château Martinay pour éviter toute confusion avec le château éponyme situé à Violès et le rapprocher (par l’orthographe) du Château MALIJAY, propriété viticole situé à Jonquières dans les côtes du Rhône dont il est également le propriétaire.
Une nouvelle aventure commence : Proposer une hôtellerie de luxe dans un esprit intimiste et familial dès Juin 2019 autour de l’art de vivre Français.

 

 

 

L’art de vivre au Château Martinay, calme et volupté

Une grande façade plein sud, tranchant avec la cour d’honneur nord, presque moderne, à force d’ouvertures et de douce harmonie. Ici l’expression « Château de plaisance » prend tout son sens !

Vous déambulerez à votre guise dans les trois grands salons aux amples ouvertures. Des éléments originels conservés (cheminées, boiseries, vieilles pierres), un mobilier choisi avec soin, la belle lumière du Sud de la France, les vues apaisantes sur les terrasses et le parc, 7 chambres et suites, trois dépendances et la ferme équestre… et mille et un détails dédiés à l’art de vivre en Provence, teinté d’un luxe sophistiqué et discret.

Le parc, la piscine & son orangerie

Un lieu de détente et de bien-être

Vous pourrez sillonner à travers le magnifique parc aux allées cavalières. C’est l’endroit parfait pour une promenade. Il y fait frais, les arbres séculaires sont magnifiques et ici et là une statue, un banc de pierre viendra au secours du promeneur fatigué ou simplement rêveur. L’ange du bassin veillera sur votre promenade. Par jour de chance, vous vous risquerez à croiser quelques animaux des plus majestueux. Enfin, fermez les yeux et laissez place à la détente autour de la piscine du Château situé en plein cœur du parc. L’orangerie accueille vos réunions informelles ou vos déjeuners pour des ambiances conviviales autour d’un barbecue ou d’un cocktail.

Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter

Restons en contact !

Recevez des informations, des offres et des instants du Château Martinay. Vos informations personnelles ne seront pas transmises à des tiers. Vous pourrez vous désinscrire à tout moment.